Moorfields

On one of my trips to Wexford over the summer, I decided to bring Kaylin and Chloe to Moorfields, the country house Dad built and us Galvins grew up in. It was my first time to visit the house since we left it nearly THIRTY years ago. I passed by the house a few times over the years but never had the courage to go up to a strangers house and ask for a look around. But now with my two little girls I had the perfect excuse.

So up the long drive we went hand in hand. I had my speech ready for the lady explaining that I used to live there, but once I said my name she knew who I was and invited us in.

She brought us down the hall, past my old bedroom and the bathroom into the kitchen. Her husband was there. We had a great chat about the house,neighbours,etc. They were very nice. She said that while they were looking around Wexford for a house to buy, they rented a house in ….. Beechlawn. Coincidence,huh?

She then brought us out the back to see the garden. The girls loved running around the huge garden just like their Daddy did thirty years before.

It was wonderful to see the old place again and it brought back so many memories. I’m so glad I decided to make the spontaneous decision to visit.

The owners joked with me about buying it back some day. It is a nice idea.

Below are the pictures I took. I have a couple of video clips aswell that I will post in a later blog as youtube is not uploading them for me at the moment. By the way, for those wondering why Chloe is just wearing a overgrown t-shirt, the reason is I had the girls in Beechlawn beforehand and Chloe wet herself and because it was me looking after the girls that day I had no spare clothes of course. So while Dad was minding them, I nipped into the LIDL next door looking for clothes. I found baby swimming togs and a grown womens blouse hence her wonderful outfit.

4 Responses to “Moorfields”

  1. David Rossiter Says:

    Great post John.That trip down memory lane is always a great one, although i think if we were to follow yours and Annie’s trip to Moorfields i imagine the poor woman would board up the house and never let another Galvin in again after our lot eat them out of house and home and wreck their garden!!

  2. Eric Says:

    How about a big Yank? I could say something like “My father-in-law built this house and I cannot believe it is still standing. Mind if I look around?”

    Nah, I better not. Nice post, John.

  3. Tom Says:

    Hi John , greetings from sunny Spain (porto Banus) over here with sheena. Nice blog , sheena says kids are cute!! talk to you soon Tom

  4. johngalvin Says:

    Lucky you Tom Enjoy the sunshine.

Leave a comment